Marie vs Me

6 Comments

Over the past 6 six weeks I have become increasingly aware of the name, Marie Kondo.  For those of you who feel like you have been living under a rock, she is a Japanese decluttering and tidying guru.

One of the things that seems to have captured people’s imagination is her method of folding and storing t-shirts and underwear.  When I first read about this, I dismissed it because I figured I did not have enough t-shirts to warrant having a special method of folding them.  Origami, anyone?  Anyway, my clothes fit quite nicely into the available space.

All of the hype got the better of me tonight so I resorted to Google.  There are many links but here is a Youtube video on folding underwear.

As far as I can see there is nothing particularly startling about that.  I do know that I would go insane if I had to unhook my bra every time I went to get dressed!

Here is my version.  Unfortunately, no video, just a couple of still shots.

2015-03-24 01This is one of the small drawers from my dressing table.  I have put it on the floor for this view.

Back left – 6 bras
Front left – 6 pairs of knickers
Back right – 6 pairs of stockings
Centre right – 3 pairs thick socks
Front right – 11 pairs of ankle/lightweight socks

I have more socks than I need but I see no reason to throw any out.  I will keep them until they are worn out and not replace with as many.  There are already about 6 pairs that have gone in the past couple of years.

2015-03-24 02This is a closer view with the drawer back in position.

Dressing tableMy underwear drawer is the top left-hand drawer.  The other top drawer holds my pyjamas, scarves, bathers and sarong.  The lower two drawers are full width and contain shorts, travel pants, tops (short and long sleeved), cardigans and my home and exercise clothes.

Nothing is over-stuffed and I am happy with the way everything is folded and fits in.

I will probably have a bit more of a look at what Marie Kondo has to offer but I don’t think I will be changing how I fold and store my clothes anytime soon.

Are you a Marie Kondo afficionado?  Should I set up my own decluttering business?  🙂

6 thoughts on “Marie vs Me

  1. yes, that would drive me insane too & no, i don’t fold socks like either, i used to fold them 3 times then roll outside sock over the other, made it nice & flat. now i just shove everything in
    never heard of her til tonight & no, i won’t be running off to watch her videos, she is in japan no doubt, they live in cubicles
    thanx for sharing

  2. I like the fact that my drawers are deep enough to easily fit in what I have. It also reminds me that I need to limit the contents to fit so no over-buying here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

