Adding More Life

2 Comments

It is nearly 3 years since I wrote this post about extending the use of a pair of 3/4 trousers by making them into shorts.  That project worked extraordinarily well as I still have the shorts and wear them almost every weekend during the summer.  They are lightweight and comfortable and great for gardening and generally hanging about at home.  Imagine my despair a few days ago when I realised that the zip had broken.

001I thought that they were finally destined for the bin but after rummaging in my stash of extra zips I found one that would be suitable.

002I decided that I had nothing to lose as they were no use with a broken zip so I set to work.  In my opinion, there is only one thing more challenging than putting in a zip and that is replacing one because when putting a zip in a new garment it is inserted near the beginning of the construction rather than at the end.  Due to the purpose of the shorts, I was not too worried about the finished look.

003While it is somewhat rustic, I was very pleased with the end result which is a perfectly functional pair of shorts.

004This whole project took me about 10 minutes to complete.

2 thoughts on “Adding More Life

  1. I am utterly impressed that it only took you 10 minutes to replace a zip. I have replaced a fair few zips in my time, and trouser zips, particularly fly zips, ALWAYS take a ridiculous amount of time. How did you do it????

  2. Actually, I am not sure. Like you, I have replaced a few zips in my time but this one was quite easy. It may have been because I did not really have any great expectations as I never wear them beyond the front gate!! There was a separate underlap behind the zip and the one I was putting in was slightly longer and it all just worked!! You can be lucky sometimes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

