Do It With a Diary

6 Comments

I have never been very good with using a diary but I am hoping that this year will be different.

004When the question was asked on an online forum of what your New Year’s resolution would be, this was my answer:

“I am going to stop trying to squash so much into the available time and learn to allow some slack. Recently, I seem to be stressing about meeting deadlines/arriving by a certain time etc. My mental health deserves better.”

The fact that it was 4 days before Christmas may have had something to do with my response, however, it was something that I had considered several days earlier of my own accord.

Now I just have to work out how to put this into practice.  One of the first things is to use a diary.  This neat A5, day-to-a-page diary was part of a Secret Santa gift which I received so it is definitely going to be put to use.

If I write things down rather than trying to carry a whole load of information in my head it will relieve all of the things I am trying to remember as well as showing clearly what is actually doable in one day.  It also means that all of those little jobs that I think of that I am going to do one day are now allocated to a time and day.  I choose the time to fit my schedule and will then just do them.  No more forgetting the little stuff and trying to squash too much into the available time.

A grand goal and I am really hoping that I can make serious progress on achieving it.

Tomorrow is my first day back at work and I have 2 jobs listed in my personal diary.  Post a parcel and take the apparently faulty iPhone charging cable back to the Apple store as it was only bought in July last year.

How do you feel about New Year’s resolutions?  Do you have any plans to do things differently this year?

6 thoughts on “Do It With a Diary

    • Hi Lindy

      That was always me – good intentions. I am trying harder this year. It will be interesting to see if I can maintain it but I am determined to try.

  1. I would be interested to know if it actually helps you to not overload on promises. I have used diaries in many ways over the years, both as record and as planner, but never (yet) as a means to control total commitments. Keep us in the loop!

    • So many resolutions are doomed to fail but this year I decided to give my plans a lot of thought and actually have a strategy to make them work. Here’s hoping!!

Leave a Reply

