Filing Friday (on Thursday)

7 Comments

Welcome to 2015!  A brand new year for you to make of it what you want.

I have been gradually decluttering for several years so there is generally only a few things here and there to leave the house.  However, there are a couple of hotspots that just seem to invite clutter to hang around unless I am constantly vigilant.

In the lead-up to Christmas I was particularly busy at work so things got a bit neglected at home.  Also, our car was badly damaged in a hailstorm at the end of November and was declared a write-off by the insurance company.  So, as well as everything else we had to buy a new car, organise insurance, liaise with the towing company to collect the old car and so on.  All of this resulted in paperwork, notes and phone messages on the desk. Everything was finalised on Wednesday – we have a new, insured car and the old one is gone so this morning I got up and decided that I had to sort out all of remaining paperwork.

I started with the desk, followed by the other hotspots which are the end of the kitchen bench and my dressing table.  It then turned into a major clean-out of the filing cabinet and other folders so The Duke and I spent several hours working through it.  Some papers had been carefully filed for up to 10 years without ever being looked at so we were really ruthless.

Apart from clearing the papers that were in the previously identified spots, I actually have nothing to show for our efforts except that the contents of the filing cabinet have been reduced from 3 drawers to 2.  Everything was relatively neatly stored – it was just that much of it was no longer relevant.

001The desk is mostly cleared – there are just a few more things that I need to put away.

002I just need to set-up the pedometers so we can actually use them rather than be lurking in the bottom of the filing cabinet!

003This end of the kitchen bench is one of the most frustrating hotspots – the pile of papers never seems to go away completely.  It may seem counter-intuitive to put a basket here to dump “stuff” in but my theory is that it will be contained rather than expanding and spreading its tentacles across the bench.  I have also designated Friday evening as “Filing or Fling” so everything that is in the basket by Friday evening will be dealt with accordingly.  In a perfect world the basket would be empty but I will be surprised if that happens.  🙂

So, beginning next Friday (not tomorrow) the blog post will be about the filing or keeping the paper clutter at bay.

I would love to hear of any systems you may have in place to help you manage the clutter hotspots and filing.

7 thoughts on “Filing Friday (on Thursday)

  1. Paper is my danger zone as well. I have started reading the book Paper Flow in earnest and like you have put a basket on my kitchen bench to catch the paper – mail, catalogues etc. My personal desk is tucked into the breakfast bar area of my kitchen bench so that is my project on Saturday morning. I have also timetabled opening mail two nights a week and Saturday morning for any reading and then diarising for action, birthday cards for the next week etc.

  2. It sounds as though you have a good plan in place. I would love to know how it goes for you. Is the ‘Paper Flow’ book worth reading? Perhaps I will look for it in the library.

    • Welcome, Joy! Anything that you can do regularly and form as a habit has got to make life easier in my opinion. Now I just need to follow my own advice………….. 🙂

  3. Hi from a fellow SSer!
    I did a reasonably big clearout since we hosted Christmas at our house for the first time ever. It was a pretty big job, and I really hope I can keep things neat from now on…I do try to file paperwork as soon as it is dealt with, however there are always bits that don’t seem to belong in a particular file and hang around on the desk waiting…those bits were shoved in a big box, which I should now make an effort to really sort out. Or I could just relax for a bit…!!

  4. Hi Fiona

    Welcome and thanks for your comment. Perhaps you could relax for a bit longer and then set yourself a time-frame to sort out the box. The last bits that don’t seem to belong anywhere are always the hardest.

    Good luck and please drop in again sometime. 🙂

  5. Paper is also my nemesis — I moved the 1st of August and the last boxes are ones of paper that I tried to go through one day and got overwhelmed. My idea was to pick up one piece each day and handle it – just one – but I lasted only one day on that. Maybe now that the shelves are hung and everything else is put away I can go back to that idea. One thing I did read was that paper should be handled only once and a decision made then. I also crochet and cross stitch and i have patterns mixed up in the boxes also. Curious how other people handle craft patterns

Leave a Reply

