Another First

6 Comments

Following on from my first attempt at patchwork, I decided to try my hand at some bunting.  My thoughts on making this is exactly the same as patchwork – it should be about using up the scraps that you have – not buying a bundle of mix’n’match fabrics for a ‘perfect’ look.

Miss O and Izz are here tonight and they were keen to help.  They both gave their opinions on the fabrics we chose to use and Miss O was able to turn the triangles after 2 sides had been stitched.  I completed the turning with the aid of a knitting needle to fashion the point of the triangle.  She also helped to arrange the sequence so that there was a good combination of patterns.

Bunting

This is what we ended up with – a couple of metres of decorative bunting in a selection of pink tonings.  There are large and small florals, checks, stripes and abstract prints.  Some of the fabric is very lightweight and other is quite heavy.  All of it has been salvaged from the offcuts of other projects – some new and some used.

It is a quick and fun project which uses a relatively small amount of fabric and produces an almost immediate result.  A perfect school holiday activity if you have small helpers!

6 thoughts on “Another First

  1. I just love the effect., and I also agree that patchwork should be achieved by using up all the scraps we already have.
    I saw some bunting in K Mart babies section the other day and though how badly stitched it was. Seeing yours I will certainly be having a go myself and what better time than during the school holidays when I have my granddaughter, Little L, to help me.
    On the subject of using up scraps, I recently sorted out a pile of unwanted clothes for our local Red Cross shop and as they lay on my sewing table I had a light bulb moment. Out came my scissors and I cut the legs of the denim jeans into 3″ wide strips of all different lengths and I joined these up into a continuous strip, then I brought each end together and sewed down the long seam, I did this over and over until I had a piece of fabric exactly the right size for a tote bag. I used some curtain lining I had been given to make a lining for the bag and I fashioned handles out of the same material. The result was so good that I have raided my husbands wardrobe for unwanted jeans and have made 2 more bags, this time using three different blue dyes and mixing them up. The result is amazing.
    Three cheers for using up what we already have and saving precious money on all those expensive fabrics. Oh, by the way, I cut out the back jeans pocket and sewed it onto the tote bag to make a mobile ‘phone pocket.

  2. I love this! And I’ve been wanting to try bunting, too; just waiting for the right inspiration. I think I’ll start some on the next rainy weekend I get (working full time for the summer).

Leave a Reply

