Redistribution of Resources

Leave a comment

Today has been a cool grey day but after a long week in the office it was good to get outdoors for a while.   The liquidamber tree was looking stunning in red a couple of weeks ago but now there is not much foliage left.

Bare tree
The Duke was mowing the lawn so I decided to spend some time in the vegie garden area.  Much of the area has been covered with several pumpkin vines but they are gradually dying off.  The have had the added benefit of killing off some of the weeds and grass that was growing in the area before we finished the fencing.  It is my goal not to have any lawn within the fenced area.  There will eventually be 9 raised garden beds as well as the blueberry patch which will be all mulced and other beds around the perimeter.

I am not sure how to keep the grass from growing on the paths between the beds but I started today by covering a small area between the ends of 2 of the beds.  I used several layers of newspaper and then some mulch that The Duke had created some weeks ago when he muched a pile of prunings.  I bordered the sides with some rocks, a commodity of which we have an abundance.  This is a bit of a test case as I am thinking of using this method to cover all of the paths/walking areas once the garden beds are finished.

Mulch and rocks

I moved the concrete besser blocks that were bordering this small area.  It was one of the early garden beds we created when we moved here but it is now in the orchard area.

Old garden
I did not take a ‘before’ photo but this is all that is left after the blocks were removed.  There was a cherry tomato growing wild and spreading on the ground so I found a star picket and created a stake for the tomato.  You can so it to the right of the photo.  The plant looks pretty straggly but it still has flowers on it.

Here are the concrete blocks in their new location just inside the fence.  This is the area where I am plaaning to plant asparagus.  I am not sure whether it will be a temporary or permanent home for the blocks.  Wherever I end up using them, I will also fill the blocks with soil and plant in them as well.

Concrete blocks
The cabbages and kale are growing.

Cabbage and kale
I also planted some beetroot, rocket, radish and parsley seeds so I will see what success I have from those.

I hope you have enjoyed seeing my garden as much as I enjoyed the time spent working in it this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

