Ashes to Ashes, Branches to Mulch

6 Comments

We collect all of the fallen branches on our land for firewood, so today The Duke spent some time cutting up some more logs that were stacked and waiting to be cut.

Here are some of them cut and waiting to be stacked in the woodshed.

Firewood
The mulcher which you can also see in the photograph also got a workout as we mulched several piles of smaller branches as well as some palm fronds and rotting branches.  As always, nothing is wasted so some of the mulch was added to one of the raised garden beds that we are filling and the rest will be spread under the native shrubs which are planted along part of the front boundary.  The mulch keeps the weeds mostly under control.

Piles of mulch
Next, we headed over to the area near the vegetable gardens.  There was more debris to mulch, including the remnants of the corn stalks.

More mulching
While the Duke and Psycho Dog were hard at work, I turned my attention to the new garden bed I built yesterday.  I needed a bit more mulch and soil to fill it up and then I planted some Purple King climbing beans and radishes.

Garden bed
It is along the outside of the chicken run so the fence will provide an excellent trellis for the beans.  I grew these beans a few months ago and had an absolutely fantastic crop so decided to grow them again.  I added a couple of star pickets and some wire to enclose the bed so that the chickens cannot dig it up when they are free-ranging.  I was just putting the finishing touches to the wire surround as the first drops of rain fell late this afternoon.  We had a tremendous thunderstorm with some huge bolts of lightening very close by but were lucky not to lose power.

Finally, just to prove that our garden is decorative as well as functional, here is a photo of the roses flowering in the front garden.

Roses
Tonight I am going to make some decisions about my 33 items for the round of Project 333 which began on April 1st.  I have kept track of what I have worn so far this month and will include them in the tally.  I hope to share the details of my choices with you tomorrow.

6 thoughts on “Ashes to Ashes, Branches to Mulch

  1. Hi, do you find the mulcher worthwhile? We hired one when we were considering buying but everything just got clagged up and it was more hassle than it was worth and that was a commercial one! I do really like the idea, would LOVE it if I knew I could put oak leaves in that would be reassigned to mulch.Interested to get your opinion.

  2. What is the brand of your mulcher? Would your recommend it?. Does it do palm fronds easily? We have a Greenfield, it takes forever to make a small pile of mulch and doesn’t handle palm fronds too successfully, even though it is supposed to. Maybe the Duke would do a blog on the mulcher?

  3. I am not sure of the details but will do some research and either The Duke or I will write about the mulcher in more detail in an upcoming post.

Leave a Reply

