Plastic Bags – A Curse

6 Comments

A couple of days ago I read this post from Joanna over at Every Week is Green where she discussed being ‘forced’ to accept a plastic carry bag from a retailer.  I have had a similar experience, albeit, close to 20 years ago.  Refusing plastic bags at the time was far less prevalent than it is today so I regularly was confronted by some very odd responses.
On the particular occasion in question, I was in a department store in Adelaide where I intended to buy a pair of socks for The Duke.  I approached the counter and as I handed over the socks, I advised the assistant that I did not wish to have a bag.  Then ensued one of the most bizarre ‘arguments’ I have ever had the misfortune to be involved in.  She was adamant that I had to take a bag and I was equally determined that I would not accept one.  Her reasons were quite ridiculous but she finally became exasperated and asked, “Well, how will people know that you bought the item at *******?”  Seriously, I had to accept a bag so that the store could advertise that I shopped there?  I was not about to back down and advised that I would not accept a bag or I would not buy the socks.  I finally paid for the socks and left with them and the docket in my hand.

It was then and there that I realised just what hard work it was to stick to my principles.  I have continued to do so and it has become easier, however,you need to be constantly on your guard to avoid plastic bags sneaking into your life.

Don’t give up, Joanna.

Finally, here is my hessian bag that I finished relining.

Bag with new lining
You can read about the beginning of the project here.  It is towards the bottom of the post.  I did try handsewing the lining in but it was too difficult so this morning I used some heavy linen thread and sewed it on the machine using the heaviest needle I had.  The stitching is clearly visible but I am not concerned as I now have a functional bag again.  Thanks, Carol for the lining fabric.  🙂

6 thoughts on “Plastic Bags – A Curse

  1. Nice rehab on the bag Fortunately fabric shopping bags have been the norm here long enough that we have plenty. They get washed on occasion and hold up well with the odd seam being reinforced on the sewing machine.

    Odd about the plastic bag. I might have accepted it, then handed it back as soon as the transaction was finished.

  2. That’s so silly – I don’t want to be a walking advert, and I’m sure there are better ways of advertising that don’t do so much harm to the environment! It’s really great to hear what you think – and thank you for mentioning me too! I agree, it’s definitely hard work but doing the right thing is so important.

  3. Oh that is so annoying! Do you ever find, Fairy, that you do in fact need their plastic bag though? Sometimes my handbag (which is huge) is full, and the item is needed?

    • I cannot think of a time when I needed a bag. I carry a rolled up Eco-silk bag in my handbag so that generally covers any unexpected purchases.

Leave a Reply

