Two Heads Are Better Than One

2 Comments

So the saying goes…………..  This is definitely true when it comes to decluttering.  Trying to justify why you want to keep something to another person is more of a challenge than just doing it yourself.

When we had the kitchen renovated about 4 years ago we chose to have mostly drawers rather than cupboards and I am really pleased with that decision.

On Sunday I cleaned out 5 drawers plus 1 small cupboard in the kitchen.  I actually removed the drawers from their runners, emptied the contents and completely cleaned the surrounding area as well as the drawer.

The large drawer below the microwave holds baking tins and trays.  The Duke and I went through each item and have rehomed several trays and tins that are no longer used for one reason or another.  Mostly it was because we simply no longer (or never did) bake those items.  It meant that I was able to consolidate the extra tins that were in the top cupboard into the same drawer as the rest of the baking trays.

Here is the end result.

Baking tins
One of the other drawers that got the treatment was what some people would call a junk drawer but I refuse to give it that name as it is not junk.  Everything in here has a use and is used regularly.  I have decluttered it severa times over the past few years and each time I manage to reduce a bit more and I am pretty happy with it now.  This time I have finally let go of the remnants of rolls of clingwrap and plastic for separating items in the freezer.  I have not used either for many years so it was time to move them along.

Top drawer
What have you decluttered lately?

2 thoughts on “Two Heads Are Better Than One

  1. Interesting to read your report on installing draws for the kitchen we hope to upgrade to new kitchen and seems that draws are so much more manageable good to hear this new trend is working for you cheers Robyn

  2. Hi Robyn, Good luck with the new kitchen. I have about 13 drawers. Generally each bank has a shallow one at the top with a medium and then deep one below that. I will take some photos and do a blog post about it.

Leave a Reply

