Storing the Surplus

4 Comments

As I mentioned yesterday, I picked corn.  I ended up with about 18 cobs and after The Duke had 2 for his lunch I was still left with a lot of corn to keep for another day.  After doing a bit of research, I decided to blanch it, strip the kernels and freeze them.

Here is what I did.

Blanching corn
Cooked 3 – 4 cobs at a time for 6 minutes in boiling water.  It needs to be a large enough volume so that the water returns to a rolling boil within 1 – 2 minutes of adding the corn.

Corn in iced water
Remove the corn from the water using a slotted spoon and drop immediately into iced water for 6 minutes.

Bundt tin to support corn
Strip the kernels from the cob using a sharp knife.  In the instructions I found on the internet someone suggested using a bundt tin to support the narrow end of the cob while cutting the kernels off.  I happened to have one of these so tried out.  I was very pleased with the ease of removing the kernels and the tin was perfect to catch them in.

Kernels and empty cobs
I gently stirred the mixture to separate the kernels and spread them on 2 trays, covered them and placed them in the freezer overnight.  I weighed the kernels before I froze them and my efforts yielded 1.7kg.

Trays of corn kernels
This morning I removed the frozen kernels and packed them into 2 containers.  This way the kernels are individually frozen and I can remove as much or as little as I need at a time.

Corn ready to storeDespite my despair of a few weeks ago, the corn has been a real success and there are more cobs which will probably be ready next week.

4 thoughts on “Storing the Surplus

  1. Love the idea of using that tin! Got a terrible feeling my corn will be a very small harvest due to the frying heat just when the stalks were ready to drop their pollen. 😦

Leave a Reply

