Tomato Day

2 Comments

It was nothing like ‘Tomato Day’ as described in the novel, “Looking for Alibrandi” but The Duke and I had our own mini version when we cut up 5.5kg of tomatoes yesterday.

A couple of weeks ago I asked at the local fruit stall if they had any cooking/sauce tomatoes as I wanted to make tomato sauce.  After some discussion it was agreed that they would try to get some from the market if there were any available and let me know.  I had not heard anything so I asked again when we went yesterday to buy our weekly supply of fruit and vegetables.  B then presented me with a box of assorted over-ripe tomatoes which had been sorted from the regular ones rather than specifically purchased.  These were then given to me as they would otherwise have been thrown out.

Back at home, we only had to discard 3 or 4 that were completely rotten and the rest were chopped up and placed in bags in the freezer.  I simply do not have the time to make sauce this week in the lead-up to Christmas and holidays so they can stay in the freezer until I have time to make the sauce.

This is an example of the benefits of eating seasonal produce and also supporting and getting to know your small, local retailer.  I could not imagine this scenario happening at my local Coles or Woolworths supermarket.

2 thoughts on “Tomato Day

  1. Thanks, Heidi. I would hate to think of them just being thrown out.

    By the way, this is the book I mentioned. http://www.amazon.com/Looking-Alibrandi-Melina-Marchetta/dp/0375836942#reader_0375836942 I don’t know whether the Tall Kid would be interested in it. My girls loved it, eldest was about 13 when it was first released. It is set in Australia so a little different to what they are used to, I expect. Mind you I read lots of north American and English novels when I was growing up. I am still dreaming of going to PEI since re-reading all of the Anne books again quite recently. 🙂

Leave a Reply

