Project 333 – Wardrobe Orphans

2 Comments

While I have been busily writing about some of the strategies you can use to reduce your stuff, I have been reviewing the contents of my wardrobe.

Wardrobe

As I have said before, I do not have a bulging closet.  Nevertheless, there are still items that get overlooked when I am planning an outfit to wear.  Why?  They fit and there is no good reason but they just tend to get overlooked.  They are the wardrobe orphans.

Blouse

This sleeveless shirt is an identical style to others that I wear regularly but although I like it the top it does not really work with other pieces.  My skirts are all patterned and therefore I wear plain tops with them.  My shorts are white, black, red and khaki.  I don’t get excited about any of those combinations.  I think it needs denim or navy shorts or skirt.  I don’t have either nor am I planning on adding them to my wardrobe.  The final straw is that it obviously requires a white or nude bra and the 2 white bras that I have are too big and really past their use-by date.  So, the shirt has to go.

Shirt

Another white shirt.  This time it is a 3/4 sleeve one with light blue metallic pinstripes.  Unlike the other one I have never really loved it.  I bought this when I needed another ‘business’ shirt but it generally gets cast aside in favour of others that I prefer.  It is just not right for me.

I am going to move both of the shirts out of my wardrobe and was planning on putting them in the op shop bag.  However, my first option is to offer them to any of my readers who are interested.  You may have one or both if you wish.  I am giving them away on the understanding that you will pay for any postage costs.  I am willing to post overseas if required.  They are best described as an Australian size 10 – 12.  The sleeveless shirt was made by me and is cotton.  The 3/4 sleeve one is Jacqui E cotton/nylon/elastane.

If you are interested please email me.  gandy79atgmaildotcom

Are there any orphans lurking in your wardrobe?

2 thoughts on “Project 333 – Wardrobe Orphans

  1. You must have read my mind! I just cleaned out my wardrobe on Wednesday afternoon and removed a few items that I like but in 4 years have worn approximately 2 or 3 times. One was a dress that clung in all the wrong places so I gave to a girl at work. One is a top that I actually love but it is supposed to be ‘off the shoulder’ and when I wear it I spend all my day pulling the sleeves up onto my shoulders – so thought it was time for it to go. It is in excellent condition so I might see if I can sell it as I did replace it with a summer top for work that only cost $14.50 on sale at Katies!

  2. Well done, Lynda! there is nothing worse than clothes that you need to be constantly adjusting. I have been there and done that. Clothes that I can just put on and are part of me without any extra thought or effort are the order of the day.

Leave a Reply

