Decluttering – The How

1 Comment

I have done quite a bit of decluttering over the years and most of the time we are in maintenance mode here.  However, every now and then we have things that need to be moved along.

Once you have decided that an item no longer belongs in your home, the next question is, “Where does it belong?”  I try not to throw things to landfill if I feel that there may be someone who can use what I no longer want or need.

There are several options of what to do with your stuff.

Sell it – eBay or Gumtree

Give it away – Freecycle

Donate it – Lifeline, Salvos or Endeavour Foundation

These are just some of the popular and well-recognised methods here in Australia.  Of course, there are others here and I am sure there are different, yet similar options in other parts of the world.

Today I have advertised and sold a queensize bed and mattress using Gumtree.

2013-10-12 01The mattress has gone to a new owner today and the base and frame have been sold to someone else and are planned to be picked up early in the week.

Fridge/freezerFreecycle is a worldwide organisation dedicated to keeping items out of landfill.  I have assisted in that goal today by advertising our old fridge/freezer and some assorted used fencing wire.  Both items have been requested and I am just in the process of making arrangements for them to be collected.

WireNow there is just the child’s car seat which is listed on Gumtree.  I will keep my fingers crossed.

2013-10-12 04

As you can see, there is a diverse range of things that can be sold or given away.  Before you rush off to the rubbish dump or toss things in the garbage bin, stop and think about whether someone else might be able use what you no longer require.

What options do you use when decluttering?

One thought on “Decluttering – The How

  1. We have used Freecycle for some bigger things and a box of books but mostly I take it down to our Really Really Free Markets. I have taken stuff to our local Vinnies but am rethinking doing that again as I know that not all the good stuff is put out to be sold but is sent up to Perth to be *recycled*
    I’m still finding it hard to get it out but know there is too much here.

    Barb.

Leave a Reply

