Sustainable House Day – A Review

7 Comments

As you would be aware from my previous posts, Sunday 8th September was Sustainable House Day here in Australia.

We decided to register our house as open for the event and were happy to show people the features of both the house and garden.  We had 4 groups of people come to visit and while the number may seem disappointing, there are some very positive ways of looking at this.

  • We were able to spend time in direct one to one conversation with the visitors
  • Security issues were not a concern
  • The people who came were really interested and committed to making a difference in their own homes

I was pleased that 3 of the groups were young couples who appeared to have clear visions of what they wanted to achieve and we hope that seeing what we have achieved with our property went at least some way to inspiring them.

I do not anticipate registering next year as we are likely to be on holidays.  If I decided to participate in the future, I would definitely do more to promote the day, particularly with the local council.  I was surprised by the lack of organised promotion of the overall day, especially since it has been an annual event for more than 10 years.  A lot of the advertising seemed to be left up to the individual homeowner and unfortunately I was interstate for the week immediately prior to the event.  This was due to circumstances beyond my control.

7 thoughts on “Sustainable House Day – A Review

    • Was that Josh Byrne’s house? I would have loved to have seen it. I was disappointed in the marketing or lack of here in Qld. It was not helped by the fact that I had a couple of unforeseen commitments interstate in the week immediately prior to the day.

  1. Every year I think of doing this, either going or doing it ourselves…haven’t yet. Maybe next year. I say good on you for opening your house/yard to strangers as that would be the main concern of mine. That and maybe not being up to scratch with the sustainablity.

    Barb.

Leave a Reply

