Blessed

16 Comments

Once you post a new entry on your blog it is out there for the world to read.  I sometimes wonder who reads what I write and what they actually think of it.  I am not alone in finding that those who comment represent a minute proportion of those who read.  However, the identity and thoughts of most of my readers will continue to be a mystery.

Since I have been blogging, I tend to find a lot more blogs that I read.  Some are like old friends that I diligently seek out every time there is a new post, others less regularly and many that just capture my interest with one post.  Many have an underlying theme of struggling.  This may be financial, health or relationships.  For some, the struggle appears to define them but others it seems to be an ever-present shadow lurking in the background.

The more I read, the more grateful I am for what I have.  We are both employed, have a roof over our heads and plenty of food.  Severe chronic or terminal illness is not part of our world.  I maintain good relationships with family and friends.

In other words, we have the freedom to make choices about how we live rather than it being driven by the need to deal with issues that constantly threaten our physical or mental well-being.  For that I am forever grateful.

Itis easy to take much of what you have for granted.  Blogging and connecting with others’ blogs adds to my awareness.

What are you grateful for in your life?

16 thoughts on “Blessed

  1. Dear Fairy. How true. If we have our health and our family we have everything.
    I’m grateful for my continuing good health, my loving family both here and overseas, the opportunity to live with freedom, and in safety, in this country of Australia. I’m grateful for our health service which I’ve needed in times of emergency.
    For absolute pleasure – I’m grateful for my allotment and my ability to grow my own organic food.

  2. Fairy, I am grateful for my dear husband. I married quite late (49) and he has enriched my life no end. Earlier this year I was visited by cancer, hopefully not to stay, and his support and love has been so precious to me.
    Barb

  3. Very true Fairy, I continue to try and focus on the positives in my life of which there are so so many, and not let the one constant negative (person) drag me back down. It is a daily issue but my health and the happiness of my family and their future will always be more important. Life is good.

  4. Oh yes I am very blessed too 🙂

    I have learned to be grateful for everything I have in my life.

    I am alive, I am healthy, I have a good life, a wonderful family, a roof over my head, food on the table etc etc. What more could I ask for? I consider myself extremely lucky compared to a lot of people in the world who struggle their whole life just to have the basic necessities to survive.

    x

    • Interesting that you mention learning to be grateful. I think it is something that we need to learn as gratitude does not often come naturally. We are very lucky compared to many of our global cousins.

  5. Fairy, I have only been blogging for just over two months and have had over 6,000 visits in that time although the first 1,000 or so were probably from me going to and from the blog as I was setting it up and didn’t know you could click on the ‘Don’t track your own pageviews’ thingy. You could have knocked me down with a feather to find all these people were reading my fledgling blog which is still a bit of trial and error. So I starting wondering who was reading my blog as only a few people leave comments.I must admit I have read a lot of blogs for some time, mostly written by young US mums who somehow find time to sew amazing clothes for their children, and I have never left a comment. I am not sure I even knew how to do that earlier on to be honest.

    We do have chronic illness in the family and I am officially a Centrelink carer but there is still much to be thankful land grateful for. Even being blessed to live in such a great country as Australia makes me grateful. I have discovered in life that there is always someone worse off and to be thankful for what we have.

  6. I’m grateful for what we have too – we have two incomes, live within our means and enjoy having family that lives close by and friends that are willing to travel to visit us (we had houseguests again this weekend). I do have a chronic illness, but I manage it with the help of a supportive spouse and family and by remaining stubborn and pragmatic. It all works out in the end.

  7. Thank you for your blog Fairy. I really enjoy reading it and have been so inspired.

    I am grateful for my reasonable health and for being fairly financially secure. I work a couple of shifts a week, but not long ones……..I’m happy to do that, but have grown to love just being here, at home. I’m very grateful to have my garden and my home…………and especially for my family who are happy and secure.

    I feel very blessed for all that

Leave a Reply

