Plastic Free July – Update & A Refresher

9 Comments

Today I am reviving an older post  that should help in our quest for Plastic Free July and also in the future.

Do you buy pure butter in a compostable, paper wrapper?  Or are you like the majority of the population and buy margarine or some type of spread in a plastic container?  Want to stop getting those plastic containers?  Here is your answer.

Picture

I have been reasonably successful in sticking to plastic-free options so far this month.  My list of items containing single-use has been updated with a couple more items.  You can find it here.

Last night we ate out, at our local pizza restaurant.  There was no plastic involved as they use proper crockery and cutlery, however, the soft drink always is served with a straw (plastic).  I thought of this before I went so when we ordered our drinks I specifically asked for no straw.  I should really have taken it a step further and explained why I chose not to have a straw.

I was discussing this with The Duke and said that for Plastic Free July to have any real value, I needed to push the boundaries and not just do plastic free things that are part of my normal routine.

Have you done anything different this month?

9 thoughts on “Plastic Free July – Update & A Refresher

  1. For years I have toyed with this idea of making spreadable butter idea, but have worried as I have heart and arterial problems and am restricted in the use of fats. Now I am wondering if I can give it a go, as it is not pure butter. Hmmm…

    • Pat – I had the same reservations but decided that since pure butter only makes up less than 1/2 or barely 1/3 (if really well whipped) of the mixture that it was OK. I also try to limit the amount I actually use – not difficult now that I do not eat bread, either.

      Like everything, it is a balancing act and a decision that each of us has to weigh up.

  2. I used to have a copy of a recipe from the depression era, it only called for two ingredients but I can’t remember what the second one was. I don’t eat/buy a lot of butter but when I do it comes wrapped in paper, if I am going to have butter it will be the real thing or not at all. This week wasn’t too bad after a few plastic wrapped items I’m back to more typical days for me, plastic free.

      • Blew it today, With the heat my son, his wife and the two children came over to help with yard work. The heat and humidity got to all of us so by late afternoon a container of sherbert was purchased and shared in the shade. Darn heat! 🙂

  3. I’ve been trying Plastic Free July too. I thought I’d do well with buying produce at the Farmer’s Market where I could use my own bags, but ended up traveling on Saturday and missing the market. Today I caved and bought a packet of blueberries that came in plastic. (SO hard to go without blueberries when they are everywhere) Also, I looked at cosmetics and don’t see anything in the way of sunscreen that’s not in plastic. Any tips?

  4. I have never seen sunscreen in anything other than plastic, unfortunately. In that instance, I would try a loose-shirt and broad-brimmed hat to minimise the need for sunscreen. However, where health is concerned and there is no other option I would buy the sunscreen in plastic. It is a matter of weighing up the risks.

Leave a Reply

