Started and Finished

Leave a comment

Today I began a sewing project and finished it in one day.

I created a pattern from an existing top which I bought a couple of years ago and made this cotton lycra 3/4 sleeve top.

2013-07-10 01I am quite happy with it, however, I will be making a few adjustments to both the pattern and my sewing technique next time.  There will be a next time as I have another piece of fabric which is a narrow black and cream stripe.

I have made clothes from stretch fabrics for many years yet I am never entirely satisfied with the finish that I can achieve on the hems.  I use a stretch stitch on my sewing machine and have tried several alternative stitches.  Iam currently debating whether an overlocker is the way to go.

If you have any experiences of using an overlocker when sewing stretch fabrics I would love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

