A Challenge – Plastic Free July

12 Comments

I know I said I would be back on Sunday evening with my next slow living blog post.  I will do that but in the meantime I wanted to share something which I heard about today.

Plastic Free July started in 2011 as a community initiative of the Western Metropolitan Regional Council in Perth, Western Australia.  From that small beginning it has spread with individuals and groups all over Australia and New Zealand becoming involved.  2013 is the year it has gone truly international.

Reusable bag and jars

I only became aware of this today.  First, I read an article in the ReNew magazine which is published by the Alternative Technology Association.  Later, I saw a link to the website posted on Simple Savings.

Rubbish

It seemed as though I was meant to find out more about this and I checked out the website and signed up for the challenge.  Will you?

Individual bags

Individual bags

We do not use a great deal of single-use plastic in our home but I will be keeping track more closely over the next month and blogging about our progress every Saturday so make sure you pop in and see how I am going.  It would be great if you can join in too and share your story.

12 thoughts on “A Challenge – Plastic Free July

  1. Pingback: June In Review and a Peek at July | Living Simply Free

Leave a Reply

