Perfect or Edited

16 Comments

I read this post by Celia over at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial this morning and it certainly made me think.

Do bloggers tell the truth?  Are we presenting the equivalent of a glossy magazine while the reality is quite different?  Is it lying or simply omission?

What I write here on my blog every (almost) day is exactly what is going on.  I take the photos, pretty average ones sometimes and write the text pretty much as it tumbles out of my head.  Some days the editing is very poor.

Autumn sunshine
I post about things that interest me and that I hope will be of interest to my readers.  Occasionally I post something that is totally self-indulgent.

My blog is just that – a blog and it is mine.  It is not my life so you do not get every minute detail of what is going on – it would end up looking like some people’s Facebook pages (and I don’t read them either).  The fact that it is mine means that I get to pick and choose what I write about and what I leave out.

Have a great weekend and I will be back on Sunday evening with a round-up for the month of slow living for June.

16 thoughts on “Perfect or Edited

  1. Interesting observation Fairy. Yours is obviously very real. I have trouble believing some of the decorating ones that have been created by finds on the road.

  2. I think the beautiful thing about blogging is that it is basically just snapshots of thoughts. And perhaps, what an outsider looking in may think is a “glossy screen” could actually just be the way that blogger thinks. Obviously, reality isn’t the same for everyone.
    Oh, and great blog by the way! 🙂

  3. Maybe I’m naive, but I really have never thought of people not telling the truth on their blogs….maybe it’s because the blogs I read talk about everyday life, which is what I enjoy. I think i’ll be reading blogs slightly differently from now on lol

  4. Like you my travel blog is about my family and the plans for our trip. I started it ahead of time to practise so that I can communicate with family and friends while we are away for five weeks.

  5. I think I blog mostly as a record of my family’s everyday life, so it is real in the photograph album sense.. there is an absence of the ugly bits, but the stuff that does get written about is real. I started following the Fig Jam blog too – thanks.

    • You nailed it, Heidi – real but without the ‘ugly’ bits. I love reading about your everyday life – it is so different from ours on some levels yet some things are so similar. It is great to be able to share.

  6. Yes, mine is definitely real – I just don’t know how to lie, as a habit! I mean, I do try to get things out of the frame of the photo (like mess) but I’ve been thinking lately I should post some ‘this is how it can really be’ to show up all the ‘tidy’ photos! I feel like it’s a document of my life, mainly for me, and I love that it interests other people, and they can help me on a journey, like real life community does too.

Leave a Reply

