Project 333 – Winter Wardrobe & Wishlist

2 Comments

Since it will officially be winter in 3 days I thought a post about my winter wardrobe was in order.  We live in a relatively mild climate but it still gets cool enough to need more than summer-weight skirts and t-shirts.

Over the last 10 months I have lost 8kg so that has necessitated moving a number of items along as they were simply too big.  This has pared down my wardrobe even more.  However, a bonus is that I can now wear these 2 jackets.

Red and charcoal jackets

They were a neat fit when I bought them a couple of years ago and a little over a year ago they were destined to be given away.

I also have a black cord jacket and a pink suede one.

Pink and black jackets

One of the few things I have bought for this winter is a new pair a tailored black trousers as I did not have any trousers suitable for wearing to work in winter.  I gave my only pair away at the end of last winter as they were too big.  Last week I had to buy a belt because even my new trousers are a bit on the loose side.  I did try the next size down but they were a bit too tight.

Belt

I generally wear a collared shirt (3/4 sleeve) under the jacket to work as I don’t want to be rugged up because I work in an air-conditioned office.  I have 5 striped shirts.  There are also these 2 lightweight knits.

Knit tops

A couple of sleeveless vests, 2 pairs of jeans, 3/4 sleeve tees and a couple of rugby tops pretty well round out my work and casual winter wardrobe.

My shoes are 2 pairs of flats – red and pewter, red lace-up casuals and RM Williams boots.

Now for the wishlist:

Black skirt – purchased and waiting for me to shorten the length
Grey patterned cord skirt – waiting for me to refashion it from a skirt that is too big
Plain black lightweight knit – in the cupboard but need grey skirt to wear it with
Grey/charcoal trousers – need to buy
Black flat/low heel court shoes – need to buy
Black low heel boots (knee-high) – need to buy to replace the high heeled ones I have given away as they were too high and I did not feel confident walking in them
Black stockings – need to buy
Scarves – I would like some lightweight plain coloured scraves – probably black, fuschia and red with possibly mint green or purple as well.  Just need to go looking.

I need to try on some boots to see whether they will suit me as I am not overly tall.

I have 6 pairs of grey stockings (most unworn) that I bought last year in the USA and after wearing them a couple of times I have decided that I do not really like the colour, hence I need to buy some black ones.

Recently, I bought 2 pieces of cotton lycra fabric which I hope to be able to make some 3/4 sleeve tees.  One is black and cream striped (narrow stripes) and the other is plain in a raspberry colour.

Now that I have written it all down, my plan seems quite realistic and doable.  What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Project 333 – Winter Wardrobe & Wishlist

  1. I think an 8 kg weight loss is a lovely problem to deal with. My wardrobe sounds similar to yours – a few basic bottoms and a few nice sweaters and blouses, filled in with tshirts that can be dressed up with jackets or cardigans in winter or worn alone in summer. Have fun filling in the necessary items.

  2. It is a great problem, but a problem nonetheless. The basic bottoms and nice tops is definitely the way to go. I certainly do not feel the need to have the latest trend every season. In fact, one of the knit tops in the photo is about 12 years old – it just keeps looking good so I keep wearing it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

