The Root of All Evil

8 Comments

The saying goes that money, or more specifically, the love of money is the root of all evil.

Several things have prompted me to consider where we are headed as a society and my conclusion was that greed was the source of many if not most of our ‘problems’.  It was then that I remembered the saying and I guess greed and love of money are essentially the same thing.

2013-05-09 01It seems that we all want something for nothing – best paying job, cheap food, appliances/gadgets, accommodation.  We want to earn the most and pay the least.  We do not seem to value the effort in producing quality – hand -raised meat, organic food, quality garments and so on.

2013-05-09 02I started writing this post about a month ago.  Since then we have seen a factory collapse in Bangladesh with significant loss of life.  I was searching for information about that incident and found this article which shows that this event is far from being an isolated incident.

The recriminations and blame game go on between government, building owners and the corporations who outsource the manufacture of their garments.  Do you feel even a tiny pang of guilt about buying products that are made under these conditions?  Some say that if we did not buy the items produced in places like China and Bangladesh that these people would not have jobs.  Perhaps it would be better for them to have an economy based on sustainable practices that will enhance their way of life rather than being exploited in sweatshop conditions for the sake of us being able to buy a t-shirt for $5.

2013-05-09 03How do you reconcile what you buy with where it is manufactured and what the ‘real cost’ of it is?

8 thoughts on “The Root of All Evil

  1. I think the main problem is that we conveniently ‘forget’ the conditions the clothes are made under and it takes a terrible thing to happen to remind us. Is so easy to pop into K-mart and buy a $10 pair of pajamas for our kids and think how great it is to get cheap clothes, sometimes when we don’t even need them just because they are cheap.
    If they were dearer we would think twice about making the purchase. We have become a ‘throw away’ society.

    • I am sure that we all tend to ‘forget’ how our bargains are created. You make a wise point about buying when we don’t even need the items.

  2. I can’t bear to think about the people who work in conditions you mentioned, may of whom are children who should be playing or in school. But I can’t afford to shop from some of the made in USA manufacturers, instead I buy all my clothes and most of what I own from thrift shops. Its the only way I can think of to make my statement.

  3. I feel like judge-y-mc-judgison when I read super frugal blogs that buy $2 shirts and $5 pants at Wal Mart (which we don’t have here in Australia, but Kmart isn’t all that different). I’ve even drafted a post on the same issue. It’s so hard to know what a ‘fair’ price is for something. Wages are so variable, and a good wage in the developing world is far less than here – is that because they cut corners? It’s such a difficult balance. I don’t want to pay $80 for a t shirt because I don’t know if that’s because someone earns a fair wage ($20 per hour in our economy for example), or it’s an $80 shirt because of the label, and some poor person is only being paid 2c an hour. There’s really no transparency with purchasing, and everyone is out to make a profit. I’m not sure what the solution is, I’m really not. It’s not ‘only buy local’ cause that’s just ‘taking jobs’ from these developing economies overseas. Educated people should use their education, and leave menial tasks to those who are ‘left’. It’s a shame there are levels of society, but it’s illogical to charge everyone the same (although, I think that’s what communism attempts, and largely fails at). It’s definitely a long and involved conversation, and I look forward to more comments.

  4. So true, Sarah. There are definitely no easy answers but worth a discussion.

    That is what I love about the blog. I can put a question out there, to which I know there is no real answer but it an excellent opportunity to encourage us all to think.

Leave a Reply

