No Frills Friday

5 Comments

This is not a new series of posts but simply the best title I could come up with.

The power was interrupted briefly yesterday evening so I reset the clock radio alarm for 5am before I went to bed.

2013-03-08 01The Duke usually takes care of this but he was out of town.  I re-checked that I had set it correctly then hopped into bed.  It was actually much earlier than 12.38.  That is the only picture I could find.

I am not sure whether it was the cool night, the bed to myself or just sheer exhaustion but I slept soundly and the first thing I knew was it was 5.23am.  The music was playing but the volume was quite low.

We generally leave between 5.36am and 5.40am to catch a train at 5.53am and drive almost 8km to get to the station.  I had 30 minutes to achieve the impossible!

Out of bed and showered
Teeth cleaned, medication taken
Dressed, hair brushed, face moisturised
Grab prepared breakfast and lunch
Grab my bag
Let dog out
Lock door
In the car at 5.38am and standing on the station platform at 5.48am – exactly 25 minutes from when I opened my eyes.

I am a no-frills kind of girl at the best of times so I really managed to do everything I would normally achieve in my morning routine – just at super speed.  Being organised certainly helped as I had already decided on my outfit and did  not have to trawl through a cluttered wardrobe wondering what I might wear.

I have one handbag which contains the essentials and it is ready to go.  My essentials for going to work are – rail pass, access pass for office, purse and car keys.  There are other things in the bag but that is what I need to easily navigate the day.

What is your routine?  Can you pare it down further if the need arises?

5 thoughts on “No Frills Friday

  1. I shower at night…and then just rewet my hair in the morning for the styling routine. It seems to style better that way, anyway. I prepare my coffee so all I have to do is turn it on in the morning…and I lay out my clothes. Also, I stopped wearing so much make up. Fortunately, I look okay with out it (LOL) so when I do actually wear I look totally HOT 🙂

  2. When I accidentally sleep in, breakfast is cut from the at home routine and I use my emergency stash at work or buy something later. I also shave off time when I have guests by getting all my clothes in the bathroom – usually I’d go back upstairs to change.

    Good work on the speedy turnaround!

  3. You are incredible! That was so quick I think I’d still be feeling sleepy at the train station. Definitely having clothes chosen, lunch prepared and bag packed makes this possible and what a great reminder of the importance of doing this every evening so you can cope with whatever the next morning throws at you. Alas, I do this more often than not as I am not a happy early riser and rarely get up on time.

  4. I am extremely impressed Fairy:) I’ve been working from home for several years now and I’m afraid I have become very nonchalant about my appearance and the clothes I wear:(

  5. I’ve got my morning routine down to 1/2 hour – and that includes a shower and making my bed. My hair is curly & dries fast, so I leave with it wet. Makeup for me is just powder and mascara and the clothes and lunch are ready the night before. It works for me.

Leave a Reply

