Storing the Surplus

Leave a comment

We have a fig tree that we planted about 5 or 6 years ago and for about the last 4 years we have been able to pick enough figs to enjoy a good feed during the relatively short season.  Invariably, the birds get some and some go rotten, particularly the last couple of years when we have had a lot of summer rain.  This season has been mostly warmer than usual and fairly dry.

I have been picking and eating figs when I am in the garden for the past few weeks so yesterday I started picking some and realised that there was an enormous number ready to pick.  Here is the result.  Yes, that is my hat that I collected some in.

2013-02-03 01I ended up with 5 kg of figs so it made sense to preserve some for later use.  I love fig jam but we don’t really eat much jam so thought I would trying drying them in the dehydrator.

2013-02-03 02I filled the 4 trays with cut figs.

24 hours later I have semi-dried figs.

2013-02-3 03I am going to store them in the refrigerator as there is still some moisture in them.  Meanwhile we still have plenty of fresh figs to eat at the moment.

Leave a Reply

