A Christmas List

5 Comments

I have started to get my Christmas list which was in my head, down on paper.  It is not a list of what I want but a list of Christmas related activities and tasks.  I need to check that nothing gets forgotten.

Over the last few years it has become an unwritten rule that nothing overtly Christmassy happens until after 3rd December.  The significance of this is that it is Miss O’s birthday and I think that it is important to be able to focus on her special day and not let it become overwhelmed in the lead-up to Christmas.  Our darling turned 5 yesterday so has the adventure of starting Prep and the whole new world of school next year.

But back to the list…………

Plan menu for Christmas lunch
Put up Christmas tree
Finish Christmas letter
Write Christmas cards and post
Finish hand-made gifts
Check gifts complete for immediate family
Take granddaughters to see Christmas lights
Check for carol service appropriate for granddaughters

I am sure there will be other things to add to the list but that is the main focus for us.

Christmas lunch will be for 4 adults and 4 children (aged 6, 5, 5 and 3).  It will be gluten-free/ grain-free (in line with my eating plan).  I will write more about this in another post.

The Christmas tree will go up on Saturday afternoon when Miss O and Izz are here.

I need to get serious about finishing the Christmas letter which is half-written.  Many of our Christmas greeting are sent via email but I would like to get the cards in the mail by the middle of next week.

The gifts are an ongoing project which is coming along nicely.  I think I have planned gifts for everyone – just need to check the box in the spare room again.  Nothing is wrapped yet.  In fact, I will not be wrapping gifts this year as I have made re-useable gift bags in assorted sizes from Christmas fabric.  I won’t miss the piles of ripped wrapping paper all over the floor on Christmas morning.

We will be going the see the Christmas lights on Saturday evening when our granddaughters come to stay.  Once I find the time and date of the carol service I will organise to go with Miss O and Izz.

Writing everything down helps to clarify exactly what I need to do and when.  We have a fairly simple, low-key Christmas which is naturally focused on enjoying it with the children.

Over the next week or so I will post about each of the things on my list in more detail.

When do you start your Christmas preparations?  How are you going?  Please share your plans.

5 thoughts on “A Christmas List

  1. I like your decision to concentrate on Christmas after Miss O’s birthday. Unfortunately, there are so many December birthdays in my family that this is not possible. (younger brother 7th, older brother and grandson 10th, younger daughter 19th, and of course added to that are the numerous Christmas parties for work and this year even Day Care) It all just seems to merge in together though we do make a point of celebrating each separate occasion if possible.
    Our family Christmas this year is going to be on 15th Dec as people are going away and working on Christmas Day. It will be a bring a plate to share pot-luck type of lunch. We are looking forward to it as it will be the first time we have all been together for about 4 years. My theory is not so much the day on which it happens but more so the fact that we are all able to get together for the day.
    Enjoy your time together.

  2. I don’t have much to plan for this year, I finished all the shopping today so gifts are ready to stuff into my bags I made last year, like you I love not having paper all over and it’s so much quicker to wrap this way.

  3. Just checking in to say – I lost your blog 😦 A new computer and no move of favourites thwarted me, and I couldn’t remember which blogs you commented on, and how I found you. Oh so sad… And then I found you again!

    As for Christmas planning – the three ornaments and the table top inflatable tree went up in the last two days. 3 cards/gifts are prepped, but in the car (the gifts have been in the car for three weeks I think, but cards only got done this weekend). Otherwise, not at all thought about gifts and the rest – sigh.

  4. I make lists for cards, lists for presents, lists for food …………
    I’m alsmost sorted this year but I want to do better next year. I want all done for the 1st Dec with only some of the food shopping thoughout December (that should be a good chllenge)
    Carolx

Leave a Reply

