Project 333 – Frocktober

1 Comment

It must be because the name of the month lends itself to corruption, but as well as my participation in Frugal Queen’s  ‘Stoptober’ I have also taken up the challenge of ‘Frocktober’.  This is an initiative of the Ovarian Cancer Research Foundation here in Australia to raise funds for and awareness of ovarian cancer.

As those of you who read this blog regularly will know, I only own 1 dress/frock and I am not quite ready to embark on a challenge of the magnitude of ‘One Brown Dress’.  This was one woman’s personal challenge to wear the same dress everyday for a year.  Although the original blog no longer exists the link gives an idea of the project.

I have not registered officially for ‘Frocktober’ but plan to make a donation to my friend who has registered.  I have broadened the scope slightly to include skirts and tops and my goal is to wear a skirt or dress to work every day this month and also whenever I go out socially or just to the shops.

To add some interest I am planning not to wear the same combination twice during the month.  This will test just how versatile my wardrobe items are.  When I started Project 333 about 6 months ago I had to seriously consider what I had in my wardrobe.  I decided that everything I kept needed to earn its place and be able to be worn as part of several different outfits.

At the end of the week I will post photos of the outfits I wore.

On another note, today was another no-spend day and in fact, I even made money.  I sold 1.5 dozen eggs for $6.  I also received an email advising that someone wanted to buy 2 dresses that I had offered for sale (a closed group) for $10 each so that will be a bit of additional income also.  I had not worn the dresses for several years and they no longer fit me so it is better that someone else gets the opportunity to wear them.

One thought on “Project 333 – Frocktober

  1. I am doing better today with the challenge of not spending. I needed some groceries and spent .99 on a Halloween card to send to my youngest grand child who lives out-of-town, I also spent $1.29 on transparent tape for a craft project, and another $1.59 on an envelope to mail something I need to send out. That’s it. I’m hoping to do even better the rest of this week and month.

Leave a Reply

