Stoptober – Days 1 & 2

1 Comment

Well, I am off to a flying start.

Day 1 – Monday was a public holiday here and despite the fact that we are into the second month of spring it was cold and wet.  The clouds were right down over the mountains and it was definitely a day for staying at home.  I washed (dried in front of the fire), ironed, planned our meals for the rest of the week and caught up on some routine housework.  $0 spent.

Day 2 – Tuesday was back to work.  As usual we packed our lunches to take with us.  I also pack my breakfast and eat that when I get to work since we leave home quite early.  I went into the city at lunchtime to run some errands but did not go shopping – I did not need anything.  $0 spent.

I expect that the next 3 days will be more of the same.

Our train fares are budgeted for and are automatically debited to our card.

I have identified a couple of expenses that I will have this month.  One is $21 for the annual renewal of my Simple Savings membership.  I regard this as good value for money and will continue to renew my membership in the foreseeable future.  The other thing is that it is almost 7 weeks since I had my hair cut so I will probably get it cut again at the end of next week.  I have very straight hair which I keep cut short.  A haircut costs me $35 and it is the only money I spend on my hair.

How are you going with stopping your spending?

One thought on “Stoptober – Days 1 & 2

  1. I did well, until today. After a few days of rain, I took a walk with my 4 year old grand daughter, we ended up a the local drug store where we purchased a craft kit to take home and work on today as my craft supplies were dwindling. I added a few staples to my pantry and total spent (not including food) was $9.

Leave a Reply

