My New Toy

10 Comments

I had another post half written but I just have to show you my latest acquisition.

It is a cast iron Dutch oven that I bought from Aldi for $20.  Today we parked at Beerwah to catch the train so we could go to Aldi on the way home to buy some cat food, milk and ice-cream. Of course, while we were there The Duke had to have a browse at the items in the middle section (not food) and saw these.  Normally, I would have said that we did not really need one, but 2 days ago I had read this post at Down to Earth about making artisan bread in a Dutch oven.  So, we are now the proud owners of this.

2012-07-13 01Here it is with the lid off.

2012-07-13 03It is a 4 litre capacity so I am sure it will be used for reasons other than making bread.

2012-07-13 02This was an unplanned, spur of the moment purchase but I do not think I will regret it.

10 thoughts on “My New Toy

    • We make most of our own bread and have done for about 15 years. However, we mostly have used a pre-mix and a bread machine so it is relatively foolproof. We have just started making it from scratch but still in the bread machine and I am quite keen to try the bread in the Dutch oven. I will let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

