Shopping At Home

8 Comments

In years gone by the phrase ‘shop at home’ usually referred to mail-order catalogues.  This meant that you could peruse the pages for your choice of everything from underwear to saucepans.  It was a service provided to people who lived in remote areas.  Imagine the excitement when the carefully-chosen and long-awaited parcel arrived from the city stores (Myer and David Jones) to families on outback properties.

Shopping in the comfort of your own home was also a driver of many ‘party plan’ and catalogue businesses.  These included Tupperware, Avon and Nutrimetics, to name but a few.

More recently, much of this shopping activity has been surpassed by buying online.  I have bought things online, but usually only after considerable research.  It makes shopping easy, so easy in fact, that I think some people have accumulated much more debt due to the ease with which they can part with their money or more likely, credit.

My shopping at home, today, was none of these.  I merely walked downstairs to my store-cupboard and replenished supplies which would otherwise have necessitated going to the shop.

2012-07-11 01This morning there was no cereal nor much psyllium husk which I have on my cereal.  So I headed to my cupboard and picked these two buckets.

2012-07-11 02Here are my pantry containers refilled.

2012-07-11 03This afternoon I ‘shopped’ again – this time for raisins and sultanas as I wanted to make a boiled fruit cake.

2012-07-11 04Having a store of staples means less trips to the shops which in turn saves time, petrol and opportunities to spend money on other items.  It makes sense to me to have a supply of goods on hand in case of a range of possible emergencies or disasters.  As well as food I keep a supply of other items such as toilet paper, toothpaste and soap.

Do you keep a stock of foodstuffs or other items?

8 thoughts on “Shopping At Home

  1. I buy oats, flour, sugar and rice in bulk – the rest of my baking stuff I still buy at the bulk store, but just enough to fill my containers at that time – I don’t keep extra, wanting them to be fresh. We also have two deep freezes that we keep stocked with garden produce and meat and bread, as we find good deals. I still shop once a week for perishables, but would probably cut back on that if I didn’t have to drive through town to get to work.

  2. I try not to stockpile because it reminds me too much of growing up in a house with my compulsive saver Dad, but there are definitely a few ingredients where it makes complete sense for us to buy large quantities. My husband can eat a dozen bagels in a week so we make our own bread and bagels. We buy 50-pound bags for $14.00, instead of buying ten 5-pound bags for $3.50. Unfortunately we don’t have a lot of space, so I have 75 pounds of flour stored in our hall closet!

    Good point about the disasters. After our storms last week I realize I need to think more about disaster prep.

    • Lynda, I buy mine from Simply Good, which is a bulk dry goods shop near where we live. I did google ‘where to buy raisins’ and Woolworths came up. There are also several bulk foods places that you can order online if you want to go down that track. Good luck.

  3. We’re having a No Buy Food month for July so I’ll be doing all my *shopping* from home this month. I’m like you in it just makes sense. If we were sick for a month at least we wouldn’t need to worry about getting to the shops.

    Barb.

  4. I was explaining to a young work colleague the other day on how to make crumble topping for fruit and she looked at me as though I had 2 heads when I said that all you needed was flour, butter, brown sugar and coconut. Her comment was, “I’m not going out to buy all that stuff. I’ll just get a Sara Lee one”. How difficult is it to have a few basic items in the pantry?

Leave a Reply

